What is the Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI)?

The Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) is a process improvement framework that provides organizations with the essential elements of effective processes. 

It helps organizations to improve their performance by providing a clear definition of what is required to achieve maturity in processes.

What are the five CMMI maturity levels and their examples?

The five CMMI (Capability Maturity Model Integration) maturity levels are:

  1. Initial: ad hoc and uncontrolled processes
  2. Managed: processes are planned and executed under some level of control
  3. Defined: processes are well-documented and understood across the organization
  4. Quantitatively Managed: processes are measured and controlled using data and statistical methods
  5. Optimizing: continuous process improvement based on data-driven analysis.

Examples of each level are:

  1. Initial: A startup company with no established processes.
  2. Managed: A company following basic project management methodologies.
  3. Defined: A company with well-established standard operating procedures.
  4. Quantitatively Managed: A company that regularly measures and analyzes key metrics to improve processes.
  5. Optimizing: A company that uses data-driven decision making and continuously improves processes